Institute of Chemistry

The Chemical Institute was initially founded after the formation of today's Otto von Guericke University (1993) as the Faculty of Natural Sciences. In the years 1995 and 1997, two new professors were appointed to the chairs of Inorganic and Organic Chemistry.

After the founding of the Faculty of Process and Systems Engineering in 1998, the Institute of Chemistry was assigned as one of the faculty’s four institutes. A further expansion of research activities took place in 1999 with the staffing of the Chair of Physical Chemistry.

In October 2008, the Chair of Industrial Chemistry was re-staffed with a focus on "functionalized materials".

Overview of Institute Chairs

Last Modification: 07.02.2021 - Contact Person: Dipl.-Wirtsch.-Ing. (FH) Manuela Dullin